NOVEMBER 2, 2016

Floorball League of Canada Kicks Off Their Season in the Montreal Open

Floorball League of Canada Kicks Off Their Season in the Montreal Open

Zac Rendell

For PDF of release, click here.

Floorball League of Canada Kicks Off Their Season in the Montreal Open

Montreal FC hosts the first FLC tournament of the 2016-2017 season.

The Floorball League of Canada (FLC) season begins November 12, 2016 at Cégep de Saint Laurent. The two-day tournament will feature round robin play between FLC’s five elite teams: Montreal FC, Hamilton IBK, Cambridge FC, Toronto FC, and Ottawa Blizzard. After the round robin, semifinals and finals will be played on Sunday.

Many Team Canada players will be present at the tournament. The tournament presents a great opportunity for Canada’s best to prepare for the World Floorball Championships (WFC) that will be taking place this December in Riga, Latvia. “It’s exciting to have such a growing talent in Canada. The Montreal Open should give the players great practice for the WFC and then hopefully the World Games in 2017,“ said Floorball Canada President, Randy Sa’d.

The tournament will be played on one court in Pavilion D at Cégep de Saint Laurent, 625, avenue Sainte-Croix, Montreal, Quebec. Spectators and media are welcome. A schedule will be released before the tournament on Floorball Canada’s website and social media outlets.


About the Floorball League of Canada

There is, generally, three levels of floorball play in Canada: recreation, intermediate, and elite. Recreation floorball is generally open to anyone. Intermediate is more competitive. Elite is composed of the best players in Canada. The FLC features elite teams. These teams meet for tournaments throughout the season. Round robin games in the tournament contribute to the overall standings with the top two teams playing in the championships during the Canada Cup.

www.floorballcanada.org | facebook.com/canadafloorball | Twitter: @canadafloorball | Instagram: @floorballcanada

About the World Floorball Championships

The WFC hosts the best countries in the world. There are four divisions: Women’s U19 WFC, Men’s U19 WFC, Women’s WFC, and Men’s WFC. The Men’s WFC is taking place December 3-11, 2016 in Riga Latvia. Canada qualified for the Men’s WFC after beating Jamaica in the North America WFC Qualifier in February 2016. Canada has the chance to qualify for the World Games in 2017 based on their upcoming WFC performance.



Design, Hosting, Online Registration & Administration Tools By:Powered By:
Sports Administration & Management, Online Registration, Stores, Professional Websites for Amateur Sports Teams, Leagues, Tournaments & Associations